The Creative Coalition Mourns the Loss of Advisory Board Member Robin Williams

New York, New York (August 12, 2014) – It is with great sadness that The Creative Coalition expresses its sympathies to the family, friends and fans of Robin Williams.   As an Advisory Board member of The Creative Coalition for nearly two decades, Robin was a guiding light of informed advocacy for members of the entertainment industry.  In 1995 he was one of two Inaugural recipients of The Creative Coalition’s esteemed Spotlight Award, when he was honored as an advocate for the arts, children, homelessness, AIDS, and gun violence.

The Creative Coalition CEO Robin Bronk said, “Robin Williams was truly the epitome of The Creative Coalition’s mantra to use the voice you were given.” “He used his prominence and visibility to do well while doing good, shining a light on the health, education and welfare of people less fortunate than himself,” stated The Creative Coalition Chairman of the Board Michael P. Frankfurt.  “He co-created Comic Relief in 1986 to benefit the health care of homeless people throughout the country.  In addition in 1992, Robin started The Windfall Foundation, directing profits from the movie FernGully: The Last Rainforest to fund the nonprofit which then distributed the money to worthwhile arts, environmental, health, education and children’s causes.”

“Robin Williams was a great mentor to The Creative Coalition and other charitable causes which were important to him.  We are all better off for having had him in our lives.” said Tim Daly, President of The Creative Coalition.

About The Creative Coalition ( is the premier nonprofit, nonpartisan social and public advocacy organization of the arts and entertainment community. Founded in 1989 by Christopher Reeve, Alec Baldwin, Susan Sarandon, Ron Silver and other prominent members of the creative community, The Creative Coalition is dedicated to educating, mobilizing, and activating its members on issues of public importance.  Actor Tim Daly serves as the organization’s President.