Spotlight Initiative Honorees Announced


Honorees Include
Boychoir with Dustin Hoffman, Kathy Bates, Eddie Izzard, Josh Lucas,
Debra Winger, Kevin McHale, & Garrett Wareing

Col Needham, Founder & CEO, IMDb

Jay Cohen, Partner & Head of Film Packaging, Gersh

Host Committee Tim Daly, Kathryn Hahn, Catherine Keener, Tom McCarthy, and David Schwimmer

August 29, 2014–Toronto, Ontario — The Creative Coalition is pleased to announce the honorees for the organization’s annual Spotlight Initiative Awards Dinner Gala to be bestowed during the Toronto International Film Festival. Honorees include the film Boychoir with Dustin Hoffman, Kathy Bates, Eddie Izzard, Josh Lucas, Debra Winger, Kevin McHale, & Garrett Wareing; Col Needham, Founder & CEO, IMDb; and Jay Cohen, Partner & Head of Film Packaging, Gersh. The Spotlight Initiative Awards Dinner Gala takes place on Friday evening, September 5, 2014 at the Trump Hotel (Grand Salon), 325 Bay Street, Toronto.

The annual event kicks off the film awards season with the world’s most influential players in the independent film arena expected to attend. Click here for ticket and sponsorship information.

Representing all aspects from the world of independent filmmaking, the 2014 class of honorees embodies the tenets of The Creative Coalition’s Spotlight Initiative.  The Spotlight Initiative was created in 2008 to support independent films with messages that make a positive difference in the world and celebrate the art and craft of filmmaking for their social relevance.

The Creative Coalition CEO, Robin Bronk said, “We are delighted to honor creative individuals and executives who – throughout their respective careers – have used their influential platforms within the entertainment industry to serve the common good and who define the art of independent film.”

This is an invitation-only event. All press must be credentialed prior to the event.

The event will be produced by A-List Communications, and with the culinary experience provided by Canadian restaurant and lifestyle impresarios INK Entertainment and Oliver & Bonacini Restaurants (O&B). AMC will also sponsor the event along with FIJI Water, the #1 imported premium bottled water brand, who will refresh press-weary celebs and guests with tray-passed FIJI Water with their signature FIJI Straws.

About The Creative Coalition:

The Creative Coalition ( is the premier nonprofit, nonpartisan 501 (c)(3) social and public advocacy organization of the arts and entertainment community. Founded in 1989 by prominent members of the creative community, The Creative Coalition is dedicated to educating, mobilizing, and activating its members on issues of public importance. Actor Tim Daly serves as the organization’s President.

About America and The Calvin Bar

Toronto’s newest hot spots, America Restaurant and The Calvin Bar are the collaborations of Canadian restaurant and lifestyle impresarios INK Entertainment and Oliver & Bonacini Restaurants (O&B). Opening in September 2014 at Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto, America and The Calvin are inspired by the opulence and sophistication of the Five-star luxury property. Anchored by a culinary team of O&B heavy hitters, and directed by culinary titan and O&B Corporate Executive Chef Anthony Walsh, America delivers a never-before-seen contemporary, lavish take on classic American cuisine. The elevated dining experience coupled with INK’s highly revered reputation of delivering the pinnacle of entertainment, will transform America into a sophisticated late night venue for cocktails, classic small plate dishes and live music every Thursday through Saturday. Complete with a modern-meets-luxury revamp of both spaces by global design visionaries II by IV Design, the sophisticated and whimsical experience of America and The Calvin is the first of its kind in Toronto’s financial district, and poised to shake up Toronto’s entertainment scene.  For more information, please visit and connect with Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto on Facebook and Twitter.

For Immediate Release
Lindsay Carey

Henry Eshelman
Platform Media Group