Inaugural Meeting of The National Task Force on Children’s Safety on Capitol Hill

Honorary Chair U.S. Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi and
Keynotes by Congresswoman Mary Bono and Congressman Robert Wexler
Hosted by The Creative Coalition Members and Actors Tim Daly, Kerry Washington,
Joe Pantoliano and Hallie Eisenberg

The Task Force is Convened by The Creative Coalition and Safety4Kids

WHAT: The inaugural gathering of¬†The National Task Force on Children’s Safety, led by The Creative Coalition and Safety4Kids¬ģ will convene on Tuesday, June 5th in Washington, DC on Capitol Hill.

U.S. Speaker of the House¬†Nancy Pelosi presides as Honorary Chair. Other attendees include a bipartisan group of Congressional leadership, as well as leaders representing¬†American Academy of Pediatrics, National PTA, American University, Association of Public Television Stations, American Red Cross, Business Software Alliance, Cable in the Classroom, Corporation for Public Broadcasting, Christian Coalition of America, International Society for Technology in Education, Microsoft, National Automobile Dealer Association, National School Board Association, National Association for the Education of Young Children, Parenting, PBS, Time Warner, Inc. and Tufts University who will come together with representatives from the entertainment industry to discuss important issues as they relate to children’s safety, particularly on the Internet.

The Task Force will advocate on behalf of young children and determine next steps in encouraging that media literacy and Internet safety is prioritized in the minds of parents, educators and legislators.

WHO: Congresswoman Mary Bono, Congressman Chet Edwards, Congressman Luis Gutierrez, Congressman Paul Hodes, Congresswoman Diane Watson, Congressman Robert Wexler; actor and Co-President of The Creative Coalition Joe Pantoliano (Canvas, Sopranos, The Matrix); actors Kerry Washington (Ray, The Last King of Scotland), Tim Daly(Private Practice, The Sopranos), Hallie Eisenberg (How to Eat Fried Worms, The Miracle Worker),Hill Harper (CSI: NY), Wendie Malick (Big Day, Just Shoot Me), Richard Schiff (The West Wing); media personalities Lawrence O’Donnell Jr. (MSNBC, The McLaughlin Group) and Star Jones; and Tom Blair, President, Safety4Kids and Robin Bronk, Executive Director, The Creative Coalition.

WHEN: Tuesday morning, June 5, 2007 (Press Check In: 9:30 AM/ Press Conference begins at 10:00 AM and ends approximately at 10:45 AM)
Please allow at least 20 minutes at security.

WHERE: B-318 Rayburn House Office Building
Independence Avenue and South Capitol Street
Washington, D.C.

If you would like to RSVP for the press conference and/or would like to set up one-on-one interviews, please contact Cherice Walker at Spotlight Communications, or (212) 633-0390.


Media Contacts:

The Creative Coalition: Ken Ericson / 202.466.1396

Safety4Kids: Cherice Walker / 212.633.0390