Christopher Reeve Award

ABOUT – The Christopher Reeve First Amendment Award

Presented since 1997, The Christopher Reeve First
Amendment Award recognizes individuals who are dedicated to
the sanctity of the first amendment and its free speech provision. 

Congress shall make no law respecting an
establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or
abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people
peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of

Past recipients of the award are:

1997 –Len Riggio
1998 –Jane Alexander
1999 –Jeff Bezos
2000 –Walter Cronkite
2001 –Christie Hefner
2002 –Tim White (posthumous)
2003 –Phil Donahue
2006 – Sean Penn