#RightToBearArts Media Alert

RSVP and credentials required; space is limited

THE CREATIVE COALITION’s #RightToBearArts D.C. Gala featuring Capitol Hill Delegation actors Tim Daly (“Madam Secretary”), Wendi McLendon-Covey (“The Goldbergs,”), Caterina Scorsone, (“Grey’s Anatomy”), Dean Norris (“Breaking Bad,” “The Act”) and many more 
Sponsored by Optune

Honorary Bipartisan Congressional Co-Host Committee featuring Eighty-Five Members of Congress including Senator Ben Cardin, Senator Dianne Feinstein, Senator Ed Markey, Senator Jeff Merkley, Senator Doug Jones, Senator Chris Van Hollen, Representative Karen Bass, Representative Debbie Dingell, Representative Joseph P. Kennedy, III;  Representative Eleanor Holmes Norton and more

The Creative Coalition’s annual gala brings together Hollywood stars, Members of Congress, and D.C. power players for an incredible evening that celebrates bipartisan support for arts inclusivity – and the vital role that art plays within our communities and our culture for all.  The centerpiece of the evening will feature artists who are living with a rare and aggressive form of brain cancer all of whom are wearing Optune, a portable device to treat their cancer, and are able to continue to put their “life on play” with their artistic endeavors. 

The #RightToBearArts dinner and fashion show will follow a day of advocacy on Capitol Hill, where The Creative Coalition celebrity ambassadors will call on national lawmakers to continue federal funding of the National Endowment for the Arts. Leading into the gala that evening, they will be discussing the critical importance of arts inclusivity, equity and access.

Thursday, May 9, 2019
7:30 PM – Press Call
8:00 PM – Red Carpet Photos (talent interviews available; credentials required)

InterContinental Washington D.C. – The Wharf 
801 Wharf Street, SW 
Washington, D.C. 20024

The Creative Coalition President and Actor Tim Daly (“Madam Secretary”), Wendi McLendon-Covey, (“The Goldbergs”), Ethan Cutkosky, (“Shameless”), Steve Howey, (“Shameless”), Caterina Scorsone, (“Grey’s Anatomy”), Anthony Carrigan, (“Barry”), Anthony Rapp, (“Star Trek: Discovery”), CCH Pounder, (“NCIS: New Orleans”), Dean Norris, (“Breaking Bad,” “The Act”), Shiri Appleby, (“unREAL”), Harry Hamlin (“Mad Men”) and The Creative Coalition CEO Robin Bronk.

 RSVP FOR CREDENTIALS:  RightToBearArtsGala@Sunshinesachs.com 

 Additional information on the event, including tickets, can be found here. 

THE CREATIVE COALITION (www.TheCreativeCoalition.org) is the premier nonprofit, 501(c)(3) nonpartisan charity of the entertainment industry dedicated to using the power and platform of the arts and entertainment communities in award-winning public service and advocacy campaigns. Founded in 1989 by prominent members of the creative community, The Creative Coalition is dedicated to educating, mobilizing, and activating its members on issues of public importance. The Creative Coalition uses the power and platform of the arts and entertainment communities in award-winning public service and advocacy campaigns. Actor Tim Daly serves as the organization’s president.

NOVOCURE is a global oncology company developing a proprietary platform technology called Tumor Treating Fields, the use of electric fields tuned to specific frequencies to disrupt solid tumor cancer cell division. Novocure’s commercialized product, Optune, is approved for the treatment of adult patients with glioblastoma. Novocure has ongoing or completed clinical trials investigating Tumor Treating Fields in multiple solid tumor types.

CONGRESSIONAL CO-HOST COMMITTEE includes Democratic Leader Charles E. Schumer, Senator Tammy Baldwin, Senator Ben Cardin, Senator Dianne Feinstein, Senator Doug Jones, Senator Angus King, Senator Ed Markey, Senator Jeff Merkley, Senator Debbie Stabenow, Senator Paul Strauss, Senator Tom Udall, Senator Chris Van Hollen, Senator Mark Warner, Senator Sheldon Whitehouse, Senator Roger Wicker,  Representative Alma Adams, Representative Mark Amodei, Representative Karen Bass, Representative Jack Bergman, Representative Don Beyer, Representative Earl Blumenauer, Representative Lisa Blunt Rochester, Representative Suzanne Bonamici, Representative Anthony Brown, Representative Julia Brownley, Representative Salud Carbajal, Representative André Carson, Representative Buddy Carter, Representative Judy Chu, Representative Yvette, Clark, Representative William “Lacy” Clay, Representative Steve Cohen, Representative Tom Cole, Representative Gerry Connolly, Representative J. Luis Correa, Representative Charlie Crist, Representative Elijah Cummings, Representative Rodney Davis, Representative Madeleine Dean, Representative Diana DeGette, Representative Rosa DeLauro, Representative Suzan DelBene, Representative Ted Deutch, Representative Debbie Dingell, Representative Lloyd Doggett, Representative Sean Duffy, Representative Eliot Engel, Representative Ron Estes, Representative Bill Foster, Representative Virginia Foxx, Representative Lois Frankel, Representative Jimmy Gomez, Representative Jenniffer González Colón, Representative Lance Gooden, Representative Raul Grijalva, Representative Deb Haaland, Representative Alcee Hastings, Representative Brian Higgins, Representative Katie Hill, Representative Jim Himes, Representative George Holding, Representative Bill Huizenga, Representative Jared Huffman, Representative Shelia Jackson Lee, Representative Pramila Jayapal, Representative Joseph P. Kennedy, III, Representative Ro Khanna, Representative Dan Kildee, Representative Derek Kilmer, Representative Ann McLane Kuster, Representative Darrin LaHood, Representative Doug Lamborn, Representative Jim Langevin, Representative Barbara Lee, Representative Ted Lieu, Representative Zoe Lofgren, Representative Alan Lowenthal, Representative Carolyn B. Maloney, Representative Sean Maloney, Representative Donald McEachin, Representative James P. McGovern, Representative Jerry McNerney, Representative Mark Meadows, Representative Paul Mitchell, Representative Seth Moulton, Representative Dan Newhouse, Representative Ralph Norman, Representative Eleanor Holmes Norton, Representative Donald Payne, Jr., Representative Scott Peters, Representative Chellie Pingree, Representative David Price, Representative Mike Quigley, Representative Aumua Amata Coleman Radewagen, Representative Jamie Raskin, Representative Harley Rouda, Representative Lucilee Roybal-Allard, Representative C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger, Representative Bobby Rush, Representative Linda Sanchez, Representative Jan Schakowsky, Representative Donna Shalala, Representative John Shimkus, Representative Mike Simpson, Representative Albio Sires, Representative Jackie Speier, Representative Pete Stauber, Representative Bryan Steil, Representative Dina Titus, Representative Paul Tonko, Representative Lauren Underwood, Representative Fred Upton, Representative Marc Veasey, Representative Jackie Walorski, Representative Debbie Wasserman Shultz Representative Bonnie Watson Coleman, Representative Lee Zeldin

The evening is co-hosted by USA TODAY. Founded in 1982, USA TODAY reflects the pulse of the nation, serving as host of the American conversation by delivering high-quality, engaging content through unique visual storytelling across all platforms. A media innovator, USA TODAY sites reach nearly 92 million unique visitors each month across digital platforms, with more than 24 million downloads of our award-winning app. USA TODAY also remains the nation’s number one newspaper and is owned by Gannett Co., Inc. (NYSE: GCI).


This entry was posted in 2019, PRESS RELEASE. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.